Wednesday, 31 August 2011

Flidderbugs by Jonathon Gould

'For the Flidderbugs of the Krephiloff Tree all they had to worry about was how many points were on the leaves and who held the Shears. Now something is threatening the Tree and to get to the bottom of it they must put aside beliefs held since time immemorial.

I loved this little tale. It was short and sweet and I think it would appeal to all ages. I loved the characters, I could see the bugs in my head and I personified them!

All in all a great little story that I heartily recommend.'

Tuesday, 30 August 2011

Summer Tide by Sean Gerard Leah

I wasn't sure about this in the beginning. I like an erotic novel to at least have some storyline to it. This seemed to just be an endless round of 2 and then 4 people constantly having sex!

At its heart it was a book about sexual exploration and liberation. Starting with voyeurism and then moving on to swinging and foursomes. I learnt alot about sex that I didn't know before so I suppose you could say it was educational as well! In the end it was just a little bit too steamy for me and perhaps a tad gratuitous. Fair play to the author though for having the courage to write in such a manner.

I received a complimentary copy of the book in order for me to review it.

Monday, 29 August 2011

Confessions of a Call Center Gal - Lisa Lim

I loved this. Hysterically funny, laugh out loud funny even. I could not put it down. It was also spot on in it's depiction of life in a call centre. Noone likes doing the job but someone has to right?

I loved the characters. Some of the names were amazing. The author has a keen eye for satire! I also like the backdrop of the 'will they, won't they' relationship of Mika and Maddy. it was there quietly simmering in the background with all the hilarity going on in the forefront.

I hope the author writes more as I thoroughly anjoyed this and I am sorry it has come to an end!

Saturday, 27 August 2011

In Leah's Wake by Terri Guiliano Long

This was an amazing story. The story of a young girl with a bright future who seemingly throws it all away to be with her lowlife boyfriend, and the fall out therein.

I was moved by the characters in this story. The mother trying to get over a drug addiction, the father working away from home most of the year and the sister missing her sister desperately. Finally the young girl herself running away from home and her whole life unravelling in front of her. I was gripped by the story, needing to find out how the story played out in the end.

A very moving story of a disfunctional family trying to pick up the pieces when their daughter goes off the rails.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it.

Thursday, 25 August 2011

Fourteen Days Later by Sibel Hodge

I'm really not sure where to start with this. I thought it was absolutely wonderful! Helen has decided to take up the challenge of trying a new thing every day for two weeks after being let down by her boyfriend. Along the way she learns new things about herself and finds love is sometimes nearer to home than you think.

I found it very very funny. I was laughing out loud in places and my partner was giving me some very odd looks. I so identified with Helen. I loved her clumsy disaster prone nature (very like myself!) it made her very endearing and lovable.

All in all another good one from this author. I am now off to read the sequel!

Tuesday, 23 August 2011

Thank You for Flying Air Zoe by Erik Atwell

I received a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it.

I really enjoyed this. It was a sort of coming of age story although the main protagonist was in her forties. It's about a woman's idea to reform her childhood school band and play at the famous Whisky a Go Go. I could very easily see this as a chick flick with someone like Gwyneth Paltrow in the lead. The lead character Zoe was great, she was just a little bit flaky but never gave up on her dream. All caused by a near death experience on an aeroplane.

I urge people to give this a go, it had some truly funny moments.

Sunday, 21 August 2011

Fashion Police by Sibel Hodge

This is the first of the Amber Fox 'chick-lit' mystery series.

I read these out of order but as it happens each of them can be read as stand-alone stories. This is a very funny book. Amber Fox has been thrown out of the police force and is now working for her ex-fiancées insurance company. There are four cases to be sorted out, one of which involves a high profile fashion designer. All the cases end up being linked in ways you would never imagine. Amber seems to lurch from misadventure to comic misadventure, somehow maintaining dignity and sanity. She is chased by the mob and is in love with two men. Whoever said life was easy?

I found this very funny. There were some laugh out loud moments. I implore anyone reading this to have some tissues handy, you will need them after laughing so hard!

Saturday, 20 August 2011

Diary of the Displaced by Glynn James

I received a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it.

This was an interesting premise for a book. Man wakes up in the dark, not knowing where he is or how he got there, he finds a book and pen and starts to write a journal of his time there. I really enjoyed this. There were some genuinely creepy moments and also some laugh out loud moments. The description of James' experiences I felt were very true to life and I felt the fear he was feeling as he tried to work out how or why he was where he was. The ending was good and left it open for more to come as I understand it is the first in a series.

In short this is a good one, if you like this sort of thing, I suggest you give it a go. It's not very long, but you will find yourself unable to put it down once you start!

Friday, 19 August 2011

Letters to You by Holly Hood

Again this picks up where the last left off. Eve has been hit by a truck and disappeared. Is she OK or not?

Once again it was easy to slip into the lives of Eve, Evan, Kenny et al. I thought this being the fifth book in the series I would know what to expect. But no! This time around things were somewhat darker. There was more action and key characters has personality turnarounds.

Once again for me it was a complete page turner. I couldn't put it down and loved every minute of it. I thoroughly recommend this and hope everyone reading it enjoys it as much as I did.

Thursday, 18 August 2011

Fatal Exchange by Russell Blake

As this book started it seemed like two different stories. On one hand a high-end counterfeit operation and on the other a serial killer stalking bicycle delivery women. As the book went on though it became clear that these two threads were linked by a single person. It was a cleverly drawn out tale and I could not put the book down.

Be warned however, it is not for the faint hearted. There are some pretty graphic images of torture but they are well within the context of the story. I liked the character links, and the way everything came together neatly at the end. I was more than satisifed with the ending although sad as I had enjoyed it so much I didn't want it to end!

All in all I heartily recommend this. A thrill a minute rollercoaster of a thriller.

I received a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it.

Tuesday, 16 August 2011

My Novel Affair by Autumn Rosen

Let me start by issuing a warning. This book is screamingly funny. It should come with a disclaimer – 'Warning – This book may induce instantaneous bouts of out-loud mirth. Take care reading in public places!' I was reading this on the bus and I got some very funny looks, I can tell you!

The idea of a story within a story is refreshing one and works very well. The characters are larger than life and vibrant. The juxtaposition of the story (within the story) and the real life element was very skilfully and cleverly done.

My hats off to the author for she has pulled off another winner. I loved and enjoyed this and hope that everyone else reading it enjoys it as much as I did!

Monday, 15 August 2011

Parker's Price by Ann Bruce

I enjoyed this. It's billed as erotic but it isn't in your face. In fact I got nearly half way through before there was any sort of steaminess. I loved the slow burn of Parker and Dean's relationship, and I was amused to note the use of safe sex. Again I liked the fact that it was a proper story and built up to the steamy scenes, you weren't just thrown into them right away. I also liked the fact that there was a psycho ex-lover side story running in the background, it made it all tie together very nicely.

I received a complimetary copy of this book in order to review it.

Sunday, 14 August 2011

Chasing Destiny by Linda Eble Swain

This was a wonderful story. Magic, witches, shape-shifters, curses and at its heart a love story.

The story was well told. I found myself drinking in the images of Avalon and once or twice lost myself in the sheer wonder and beauty of it. There were a couple of tear jerking moments but they were tempered with happiness on the other hand. There was some action in the middle and towards the end and I was willing the good guys to defeat the enemy!

I so enjoyed this and I hope anyone who loves witches and magic gets the enjoyment as I did.

Saturday, 13 August 2011

In The Driver's Seat -- Interstate Trucking, a Journey by Marc Mayfield

I received a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it. I wasn't sure what to expect from a 'trucking memoir'. What I got was a fascinating insight into life on the road. From the beginning of his career to the end, we are teated to a candid view of the authors life. Written part as anecdote and part diary, it was funny, moving and very informative. We learn it can be lonely, humbling, difficult but above all life changing being a Trucker.

I recommend this, as it is a good read. Never mind that it is a 'trucking memoir', it is a very funny and informative book.

Wednesday, 10 August 2011

My Four Fathers and Eleanor by Autumn Rosen

This is a story of a man with Multiple Personality Disorder, seen through the eyes of his daughter.

It was a bitter sweet tale. It made me laugh out loud in places and it was sad in others. It focussed on the life of this man who shared his head with four other people. It also focussed on the impact his illness had on the people around him. I followed each character closely and by the end it seemed like they were old friends.

It was also a very moving book and I am not ashamed to say I was in floods of tears come the end. For a début novel this showed much skill on the authors part reeling the reader in and not letting go until the end. I cannot wait to read this authors next novel.

Tuesday, 9 August 2011

Cadence of the Undead by Christopher Beck

If it is at all possible for a zombie apocalypse novel to be moving then this is it! This moved me in ways I didnt know were possible. The actual zombie action is secondary to the story of the protagonists struggles for survival. A fantastic story and a welcome change from this author to branch out into a longer story. More please Chris, you have a winner here!

Funereal Diseases of the Mind by Anthony Beal

This is a collection of 15 deliciously dark erotic short stories. Erotic horror if you will. Some are fairly obvious, vampires, shapeshifters and the like but others take you kicking and screaming down dark alleys and dont let you go until you are wrung out of all emotion!

I enjoyed this immensely, Anthonys ability to describe things make you feel like you are a fly on the wall. (Dont read these in the dark or on your own!) I was taken to many different places and I loved the ride. More please!

City of Champions by Daniel Stanton

This is a thriller about an ex military man getting used to life on the 'outside'. He has a job as a private investigator, a woman he loves and he is near his beloved brother. Life couldn't be better. And then his brother is brutally murdered. So begins the search for the killer.

The book was quite brutal in places but it was all in context with the story. I really enjoyed the raciness of it and the fact that it grabbed you by the hand and ran with you and didn't let you go until the explosive end. I identified with the characters, I thought they were completely believable. At first some of the actions may seem over the top but in the context of the story they are completely believable.

I hope this author carries on in the same vein as I would love to read more of his work.

Not Magic Enough by Valerie Douglas

This is a story set in a Lord of the Rings style fantasy setting. It is a love story between a 'Woman of Men' and an Elf. A love that is forbidden. The story follows their lives together and the difficulties they face.

I loved this. I completely lost myself in the story. I totally identified with the lead female and her truly awful life until the Elf came into it. I laughed and I cried at the end both from sadness and happiness. I was immersed from beginning to end.

I would gladly read others in the series as this one gripped me totally.

A Twist in the Tale by Mel Comley

This is a collection of 5 delightful short stories. Each has a twist at the end and each got you thinking a little bit. I enjoyed this as a nice light 'easy' read but very different from Mel's usual style of writing. It's nice to see an author step away from what they are used to and try something different. Well done Mel!

Monday, 8 August 2011

Cloning Christ: The Second Book of Daniel by D S Hay

I received a free copy of this book in order to review it and I am glad I did. I found it slightly odd to begin with but as it picked up pace I found it really hard to put down. The idea is an interesting one, cloning Christ from the Turin Shroud. I enjoyed the different threads of the story and the coming together of the characters. The bad guys were pretty evil and the good guys shone through. They were totally believable.

I enjoyed this so much and I hope that others do too.

Dead Furst (A Sebastian Furst Supernatural Mystery) by Kent R Conrad

I must admit I struggled with this. I received a free copy in order to review and it looked like my type of read. It took me about half the book to get into it but once I did, wow, was it good! The idea was a good one, man gets shot and dies......or does he? There was a very clever twist in the tale that was only revealed much later as all the strands of the story were woven together. I found the beginning very confusing but as said strands started to come together it made much more sense.

For a debut novel this shows much promise and proves the author has a unique talent. Give it a go, you won't be disappointed.

Dark Side of Dreaming by Ann Bruce

This was an interesting read. I was lucky enough to receive a free copy of the story in order to review it. I enjoyed it immensely. It was a mixture of stories, part supernatural, part thriller and part erotic. The characters all seemed to gel well together and I found them very believable. Be warned the sex scenes are very hot and quite breathtaking in places! The good thing about this story is it was a story first with the sex in context with the story as opposed to some which are just gratuitous sex with a poor excuse for a story. I would be happy to read more by this author.

Savage Nights by W.D. Gagliani

This is a story of an ex Vietnam vet whose niece is kidnapped possibly for a sex slavery ring.

I so enjoyed this, it was pacy, punchy and definetly not for the faint hearted! I was lucky enough to recieve a free copy in order to review the story and I am so glad I did. It was an amazing ride. I found myself turning the pages faster and faster in order to find out what happened. The story progressed at an even pace, taking us from 2 different perspectives but we were always informed so there was never any confusion. The characters were solid and believable, and I found myself in the head of the lead character very easily. I enjoyed this so much I would be more than happy to read more by this author.

Past Imperfect by J M Cornwell

This is a story of a woman nearly killed in a car accident, trying to rebuild her life. She is caught in a love triangle. Does she go for the man she loved and lost before her accident or the brooding handyman who helped her rebuild her cabin home?

I was lucky enough to receive a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it. I enjoyed this. It was a lovely romance. There was just enough twists and turns to keep it going. I identified with the characters and they seemed very real to me.

Sadly I had to drop a star as about halfway throught there were some serious formatting issues. Lines ending in the middle of sentences and words even sometimes. That said though it did not detract from my enjoyment of the story and I would love to read more by this author.

*UPDATE* I have received a new copy of the file and reread and thoroughly enjoyed the book. I am happy to adjust my rating as I now realise the copy wasn't the authors original upload. My apologies!

The Book of Awful by Romi Moondi

This book takes a funny and irreverent look at what life would be like in various situations. For example if there was no Facebook or if Unicorns really existed.

I was lucky enough to receive a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it and I am so glad I did. It is very very funny and I found myself laughing out loud many times whilst reading the book. My particular favourite is what would happen if there was no Facebook (shock horror!). I thoroughly reccomend this. its not a difficult read and it may just make you look at life differently in the future!

Right Side Talking by Bonnie Rozanski

This is a book about Anna, a young girl with severe epilepsy. Her only chance to stop the seizures is to cut the link between the two halves of her brain. The left side has no recollection of unfamiliar faces but the right side does but cannot speak. What happens therefore when she witnesses a murder?

I was lucky enough to receive a complimentary copy of this book in order to review it. It was a very well thought out and intriguing thriller. The pace didnt let up for a second and from the beginning to the ending in the court room I was gripped. There were a fair few twists and turns and I found myself rooting solidly for Anna, hoping that she would be able to make sense of her new world and bring the killer to justice.

I would be happy to read more of this authors work as this had me from beginning to end.

The Gravy Train by David Lender

I was lucky enough to receive a free copy of this book in order to review it. It is a suspense novel all about the cut throat world of buying and selling businesses on Wall Street.

I enjoyed this quite a bit although it took me a little while to get into it. I think that was more my lack of understanding of how wall street works than anything else though! I now have a much greater understanding.

The pace of the story went along at a fair clip and there was plenty going on and I never felt like there were any flat moments. If you like a good wall street thriller then I most definetly recommend this one

Dead Man's Image (A Lacey Summers Mystery) by Edna Curry

I was lucky enough to recieve a complimentary copy of this book, in order for me to review it. This is a thrilling mystery story with more twists and turns in it than spaghetti junction. It is a clever idea and one that I have not seen used before.

I really identified with the lead characters. They were completely believable. The story flowed along nicely at a good pace with plenty of action to keep things going.

Having read this book and really enjoyed it, I will certainly be on the lookout for more of this author's work.

Prison of Paradise by Holly Hood

This once again picked up where the last story left off but a little bit into the future.

Evan and Eve are still wrapped up in each other at the start but have a lot of upheavals to contend with this time around. New additions to the family, Turf wars & family re conciliations.

I enjoyed this as much as I have enjoyed the previous books. The author has a way of drawing you in and not letting go until she has wrung every drop of emotion out of you! I had to keep turning the pages to find out what happened to the characters I have invested so much time and emotions on.

I recommend this completely and can't wait for the next story!

Tales from the Beyond by Kristina Jackson

This is an anthology of 5 short paranormal tales, each with a ghostly theme.

It is a nice easy read, and I loved it. There is a nice gentle tone to the stories but one or two of them had a distinct chill to them. I like a ghost story that makes you think..'That could happen.'.

My favourites were 'After Dark on Halloween' and 'Afraid'. They were good solid stories with a bit of a twist at the end.

I recommend this one. As I said, it's a nice easy read written by a very talented writer.

Dark Corners by Liz Schulte

This is a story about a woman coming to terms with the violent death of her husband and the seemingly haunted house she lives in.

I so enjoyed this. I loved that it was a very different type of murder/thriller story. In that there is a strong paranormal element to it. There was also a taut psychological thread running through the story as well.

I must admit I wanted to slap the main character at first, because of her endless wallowing in self-pity. As the story went on however she 'manned-up' and became stronger and stronger. I was definitely rooting for her to solve the mystery of the house and her husband's murder.

This is not one you really want to read on your own and in the dark. It is VERY creepy in places and my imagination started to really run away with me!Every creak and knock I heard in the house had me jumping like an idiot!

The pace of the story fair rattled along – I simply could not put it down. There were several twists and turns and as each new revelation in the main characters life came to light – so there were more red herrings! The ending was totally unexpected, drawn out beautifully, had me on the edge of my seat and hit me between the eyes!!

In short this is a masterpiece. I urge everyone to give it a try. For a début novel it is amazing. You won't be disappointed.

Viper Trail by Simon Gould

This is the sequel to Playing the Game, and while it could be read on its own I would recommend that you read its predecessor as several characters are revisited and some of the key points make much more sense having read the first story beforehand.

In this one we are treated to non-stop action from the word go. We are also introduced to not one but TWO serial killers plus an old 'friend' from the first book. I loved it, I was gripped from the first page and could not put the book down at all! It was great revisiting old characters and learning more about them. Some of them in flashbacks, which happened quite a lot but we were always informed as to which point in time we were in so it never became confusing. There were plenty of twists and turns to keep even the greatest cynic occupied! I thought I was onto something at one point when I realised all too soon I was on completely the wrong track!

I totally recommend this one and encourage everyone to give it a go. I can't wait for part 3 now!

Rogue Agent by Sean Sweeney

This is a story about a terrorist bent on destroying the 2012 Olympic Games and the CIA agent sent to aid MI5 in stopping him.

From it's explosive (literally!) start this story showed great promise. By halfway through the death count was high and I was gripped. Well to be honest I was gripped from the first chapter but you know what I mean! Once again Sean took us on a roller coaster ride of madness. Having read Model Agent I knew what to expect and I wasn't disappointed. It was like stepping into a pair of comfy slippers, getting into Jaclyn's head again. From beginning to end the pace did not let up, and the ending was satisfying and slightly humorous, providing a good in joke for us Brits out there!

I totally and utterly recommend this one, you won't be disappointed and I cannot wait for the next one.

The Last Resort by Valerie Douglas

This is a story about a woman asked to find a young girl thought to have runaway. Being experienced in 'making abused disappear' she thought it would be a routine rescue. It turned out to be anything but.

I cannot overemphasise how much I enjoyed this book. I loved the multifaceted layering of the different elements of the story. Part thriller, part love story, it appealed on all levels. I really identified with the lead character on a personal level. The story was well paced and there were some really exciting bits, some sad bit but also some happy and heart warming bits. And just when I thought it was all wrapped up, the author took me on another wild ride to the end. I would like to give my congratulations to the author as I feel she has another winner here!

A Miraculous Fate by Kristen James

This is a novella about a man who discovers he has a brain tumour. It was a quick read but also a poignant one as his first love had cancer too and he wished he could take it away from her. The story flowed at a nice pace and the characters were very solid and believable. I identified with the lead characters wife as she underwent several different emotions trying to come to terms with the loss of her beloved husband. I enjoyed this even though it was somewhat sad, and I hope there will be more from this author.

Scattered and Broken by Holly Hood

Once again the story starts off where the last one finished. There seemed to be more angst this time around which is not necessarily a bad thing as life isn't always fun and games is it?

I enjoyed this one as I have the others. I am interested to see the development of the characters and how they deal with certain situations. There were happy times and sad times but they blended together to make a well rounded story.

Another good one, I can't wait for the next to see what happens next in Eve and Evan's lives!

For Nothing by Nicholas Denmon

This is a story of a man avenging his friends death and finding himself in the middle of a war between two Mafia families.

This story never let up once. I was hooked from page one and could not put it down. The author did a good job of explaining the different aspects of Mafia life and hierarchy. There were many twists and turns and just when I thought I was on the right track I was thrown another curve ball. The ending was totally unexpected and was clearly left wide open for a sequel. I for one cannot wait for that sequel!

High Spirits by Mel Comley

This is a short but true story about the spirits residing in Mel's house. I loved the candour in which Mel told the true story. Some of the things she wrote about were deeply personal. All in all it was a lovely peek into the life of Mel Comley!

Final Justice by Mel Comley

A year after the events of Impeding Justice Lorne is left emotionally battered and bruised. Then she gets a phone call with the words 'He's back!'. Thus begins a chase across France to rid the world of the ultimate bad guy.

This book was set at a slower pace than it's predecessor but that doesn't make it any the less enjoyable for it. It was nice to be taken along at a slightly slower pace. I still couldn't put the book down though and found it easy to get back into Lorne's head. This time around she was far more fragile and I identified with her vulnerability.

Can't wait for the next one Mel, let's hope we don't have to wait too long!

Impeding Justice by Mel Comley

This book starts off with a bang. A police officer is shot and killed. His partner has been searching for the killer for 8 years. Now the search becomes personal, can she catch him before it's too late?

This had me gripped from page one. It was a high octane rocket fuel charged explosion of a novel. I couldn't put it down. The characters were believable and I identified with the lead female. It was quite a long story but I didn't feel it flagged in any way. Each time I felt we were coming to some sort of conclusion the story took me up another twisty turny lane!

Thank you Mel for an amazing ride, I am eager to read the next one now!

Polar by Holly Hood

This is the second book in the 'Wingless' series and what a ripper it was! It picked up exactly where Wingless finished.

In this one we learnt more about 'the family' and were introduced to a few new cast members.

I was hooked on this from page one. In fact I stayed up late last night trying to finish it as the ending looked to be being explosive. Sadly I fell asleep but I did finish it today and what an ending! Another masterpiece Holly and another cliffhanger! All I can is keep em coming.

Mementoes of Mai by Helmy Kusuma

This is an interesting short story that reads a little like a travel diary which is a novel idea. It is about taking chances and not always receiving the outcome you expect.

The descriptions of the sights and sounds were so vivid I felt like I was really there and this I enjoyed. I have never been to Vietnam and to be taken on a journey around the different markets and foodie places was great.

Unfortunately for me the story didn’t flow very smoothly. I understand that English is not the authors first language and I commend him for writing a story thusly. Some of the conversation seemed either forced or stilted in parts. That being said with some clever editing this could be a really lovely travelogue type short story.

In Search of Lucy by Lia Fairchild

This is essentially a rites of passage story about a woman trying to find herself after a lifetime of looking after others. It has all the best elements – love, a serious illness and a road trip.

It was achingly moving in places and wickedly funny in others. I immediately identified with the lead character and recognised a lot of the reasons for her standoffishness.

I really enjoyed this and it grabbed me from the first page, encouraging me to keep on going until the very end, just to find out what happened next. I understand this is the authors first book, well done! May we please have more!

Cooking Class by V.J. Devereaux

This was my first introduction into reviewing an erotic book. Boy what an introduction it was! It was sort of Hell's Kitchen meets Kitchen Nightmares with a whole load of sauce added.

That being said, all the steamy scenes (and wow were they steamy!) were very tastefully done. I never felt they were gratuitous and they fitted in with the story.

I would be interested to read more from this author as I feel she writes from a woman's point of view...for women. A classy novel that I very much enjoyed.

Breaking Faith by Stuart Aken

You often hear about stories that stay with you long after they have been read. Well, for me this was 'that' story. I was bombarded by several different emotions whilst reading this book and I loved every minute of it

This book was a rites of passage tale. We are taken on a journey by the female lead of this story and how her life changes therein. I was amazed at how much time and emotion I invested in each of the characters – really feeling their every emotion, they were so real to me. I also like the way the author changed the narrator almost each chapter between the two main leads. It meant we could see both sides of the story as it were and was a nice touch.

It was beautifully written, in such a way as I could not put it down. Almost to the detriment of my sleep! Thank you Mr Aken for writing a story that has taken me over so completely that now I have finished it, I feel a little lost! May there be lots more from you.

The Four Horsemen by Ben Sussman

This reads very much like Lara Croft (Tomb Raider) meet Robert Langdon (Da Vinci Code) with the obligatory loony tune bad guy in the middle. It was a very enjoyable romp. A terrific thriller with masses of adventure thrown in. It was a long book but written so beautifully I just kept turning page after page. It had shocking moments, heart stopping moments and even a couple of heart breaking moments. This book took me to the edges of my emotions and beyond. The ending was very explosive and kept me guessing right up to the last page. I thoroughly enjoyed this and will be looking out for more from this author.

Forever the Dark Grave by Jacob Drake

On the face of it this is a vampire story. 'Oh no, not another vampire story!' I hear you cry. But wait! Before you judge on subject matter, yes it is a vampire story but it is so much more than that. It turns many of the tried and tested myths on their heads. I can't say too much here without revealing spoilers but it certainly put a new spin on things for me and gave me lots to think about.

I loved it. The pace was quick and snappy with plenty of action and even a little bit of sauciness in for good measure! And an ending that was unexpected as it was shocking! I recommend this to anyone who would like to try a 'different' vampire tale. It has made me hungry (See what I did there?!) for more by this author.

Be Careful What You Wish For by Sibel Hodge

I loved this. I have never really thought about reading 'chick lit' before but this was ace! I could not put it down.

There was blackmail, murder & fraud all wrapped up under the guise of boxing, although the boxing was secondary to the storyline. The story romped along at a cracking pace and there were some really funny laugh-out-loud moments.

It was a very enjoyable book and not at all 'fluffy' as I was expecting it to be – that will teach me about stereotypes! I will certainly look forward to more from this author.

Game 7:Deadball by Allen Schatz

This is a book about baseball, but it is so much more than that. A thriller set in the world of baseball may not be everyone's cup of tea but it had me hooked from about chapter 3 (and they are very short chapters!). There is enough murder, intrigue, revenge, kidnapping and even some gambling debts plus some love interest to keep everyone interested.

The plot is quite complicated and it a took me a little while to tie in all the different elements, but it is not so complicated as to ruin the storyline.

I thoroughly enjoyed this although I feely admit to not being into baseball, I can't wait to read the next in the series.